Hundreds of millions of phone numbers linked to Facebook  accounts have been found online. The exposed server contained more than 419 million records over several databases on users across geographies, including 133 million records on U.S.-based Facebook users, 18 million records of users in the U.K., and another with more than 50 million records on users in Vietnam. But because the server wasn’t protected with a password, anyone could find and access the database. Each record contained a user’s unique Facebook ID and the phone number listed on the account. A user’s Facebook ID is typically a long, unique and public number associated with their account, which can be easily used to discern an account’s username.

But phone numbers have not been public in more than a year since Facebook restricted access to users’ phone numbers. TechCrunch verified a number of records in the database by matching a known Facebook user’s phone number against their listed Facebook ID. We also checked other records by matching phone numbers against Facebook’s own password reset feature, which can be used to partially reveal a user’s phone number linked to their account.
Some of the records also had the user’s name, gender and location by country.

Source: TechCrunch

The HOSTS file has been updated due to massive spam coming from faked invitations, chats and link recommendations by infected friends on Facebook.
 
To block unwanted tags you need to disable the tagging feature temporarily as long as this spam continues.
 
To disable click on “Account” -> “Privacy Settings” -> “Customize settings” -> “Photos and videos you’re tagged in” -> “Edit Settings” and change to “Only Me” via “Custom edit”. Click “Okay” to accept your changes.

Someone told me you cannot delete your own Facebook account, but deactivate it. This is not true. If you try to delete your account, Facebook asks if you want to deactivate it. Well, that is true. It does not say it deletes your account. So, if you really wish to delete your Facebook account instead of just deactivating it, you now find a link in my Downloads section (hence the name) to really fully delete your account.

Read more …

  • About

    We never asked for this.